Problem solve Get help with specific problems with your technologies, process and projects.

Understanding licensing for Oracle database failover

Oracle database failover nodes may need to be licensed on their own. Learn why and how to tell what qualifies as “failover” in this tip from Oracle licensing expert Scott Rosenberg.

I read on many Oracle documents that cluster active/passive must be licensed for only the primary node.

Oracle DB license includes the right to run the DB on an unlicensed spare computer for up to a total of 10 separate days in any given calendar year.

For database replication made by SAN storage the license is not required, otherwise the site of disaster recovery for every bank is unlicensed. Can you help?

Oracle’s Policies regarding Oracle DB licensing includes the right to run the DB on an unlicensed spare computer for up to a total of 10 separate days in any given calendar year when the server configuration meets Oracle’s interpretation of a “Failover” disaster recovery configuration. A key aspect of Oracle’s “Failover” is that the unlicensed node must be idle and completely passive. It should be completely idle until the primary fails at which point the unlicensed idle node becomes active and ties into the same disk subsystem. If the “failover” node is active then Oracle will actually consider it a “standby” configuration which would require additional licensing. Miro consistently assists clients on determining the anticipated interpretation of their particular disaster recovery situation and help them plan for proper licensing as well as negotiate favorable concessions for the best overall solution.

This was last published in June 2010

Dig Deeper on Oracle support services

Have a question for an expert?

Please add a title for your question

Get answers from a TechTarget expert on whatever's puzzling you.

You will be able to add details on the next page.

Join the conversation

1 comment

Send me notifications when other members comment.

Please create a username to comment.

Is this always true? This information was in the 2009 licensing documentation but does not appear in 2011 doc.
One of my customers had to pay for PASSIVE AIX HACMP node, that sound's odd...

I'd like to have your advice on this.