Q
Problem solve Get help with specific problems with your technologies, process and projects.

Is deleted, but not committed, data still in the buffer?

I have deleted some rows from a table, but I forgot to do a commit. It shows that the data is gone from the database, but will it still be in the buffer if I didn't use commit?

If you delete data, but don't commit, then only you will be able to see those changes. Others will see "read-consistent" information as if the data has not been deleted. Once you commit, all will be able to see those changes. Depending on your application, exiting the application will force a commit or rollback if you haven't done so. For instance, SQL*Plus will for a commit on exit if you have not explicitly stated one way or the other. Other applications may behave differently.

For More Information


Dig Deeper on Oracle database design and architecture

Have a question for an expert?

Please add a title for your question

Get answers from a TechTarget expert on whatever's puzzling you.

You will be able to add details on the next page.

Start the conversation

Send me notifications when other members comment.

Please create a username to comment.

-ADS BY GOOGLE

SearchDataManagement

SearchBusinessAnalytics

SearchSAP

SearchSQLServer

TheServerSide.com

SearchDataCenter

SearchContentManagement

SearchHRSoftware

Close