I am new to Oracle Database. Please tell me the startup sequence for an Oracle 9i database. I am unable to understand which things start first and how the things are arranged.

    Requires Free Membership to View

There are three major steps the Oracle instance goes through when you start the instance.

  1. NOMOUNT stage
  2. MOUNT stage
  3. OPEN stage
If you issue STARTUP, then the instance goes through these three stages in order, NOMOUNT -> MOUNT -> OPEN.

In NOMOUNT stage, Oracle just reads the parameter file. This stage is normally used to create a control file or to create a database.

In MOUNT stage, Oracle reads the control file for the first time. Oracle also allocates the shared memory for the System Global Area (SGA) and also starts the background processes (SMON, PMON, LGWR, DBWR, etc.). This stage is typically used when performing recovery operations.

In the OPEN stage, Oracle accesses the database datafiles. At this point, users can connect to the instance and interact with the database. This is the normal stage of operations.

This was first published in February 2006

There are Comments. Add yours.

TIP: Want to include a code block in your comment? Use <pre> or <code> tags around the desired text. Ex: <code>insert code</code>

REGISTER or login:

Forgot Password?
By submitting you agree to receive email from TechTarget and its partners. If you reside outside of the United States, you consent to having your personal data transferred to and processed in the United States. Privacy
Sort by: OldestNewest

Forgot Password?

No problem! Submit your e-mail address below. We'll send you an email containing your password.

Your password has been sent to: